Skip to content
Check out OpenMind Magazine, a new publication funded by SLF.
Resource Guide > Journalism > Awards in Science Journalism

Awards in Science Journalism

Last Updated July 28, 2022

On this page, you'll find a list of awards available for working science journalists and newsrooms producing meaningful works of science journalism.

The Victor K. McElheny Award

Link: MIT

About: “The Victor K. McElheny Award recognizes outstanding local and regional journalism covering issues in science, public health, technology, or the environment. Each year, the award honors a single entry — be it a series or standalone piece — with a $5,000 prize. Entries for the 2021 McElheny Award will be accepted beginning December 1, 2020, and ending January 31, 2021.”

AAAS Science Journalism Awards

Link: AAAS

About: “Since their inception in 1945, the AAAS Science Journalism Awards have honored professional journalists for distinguished reporting on the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. In recognition of a generous endowment by The Kavli Foundation, the awards now are called the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards, and the contest is open to journalists worldwide.”

CASW, Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting

Link: CASW

About: “CASW established the Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting in 2000. The prize, which is given annually, seeks to honor a writer for a body of work published or broadcast within the last five years which, for reasons of uncommon clarity, accuracy, breadth of coverage, enterprise, originality, insight and narrative power, has made a profound and lasting contribution to public awareness and understanding of critical advances in medical science and their impact on human health and well-being. Eligible writing includes work appearing in digital media.”

Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award for Young Science Journalists

Link: CASW

About: “The award is intended to encourage young science writers by recognizing outstanding reporting and writing in any field of science. The 2020 winner will receive $1,000.”

SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment


About: The Society of Environmental Journalists offer several annual awards for journalists and news outlets/groups of journalists for reporting on the environment in several different sized outlets.

AHCJ’s Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism

Link: AHCJ

About: Since 2004, the Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism have recognized the best health reporting in print, broadcast and online media. Entries can include a wide range of health coverage including public health, consumer health, medical research, the business of healthcare and health ethics. The contest was created by journalists for journalists and is not influenced or funded by commercial or special-interest groups. First-place winners earn $500 and a framed certificate. They also receive complimentary lodging for two nights and registration for the annual conference.

Help us grow this guide

Help Us Grow This Guide

Do you have a resource to share? Get in touch with us.
Contact Us
Stay up to date

Stay Up To Date

Subscribe to Our Newsletter
(opens in a new tab) Sign Up